Feasts of the Lord- Passover: The Passover Church.

It’s strange how we are still on Passover. Any time I want to move on, the Holy Spirit comes up with an added revelation to bless you. I pray this is the last one.

I talked earlier about how Christ fulfilled the Passover and what the feast is all about. I want to briefly share from the standpoint of the church.

Now, when Israel was set free from bondage in Egypt, three main feasts were first celebrated in order;

✅ Passover and the Feast of Unleavened Bread.

Feast of Weeks or Harvest – What we now call Pentecost.

✅ Feast of Ingathering – Tabernacles.

Lemme show you;

“Three times a year you shall celebrate a feast to Me. You shall observe the Feast of Unleavened Bread ; for seven days you are to eat unleavened bread, as I commanded you, at the appointed time in the month Abib, for in it you came out of Egypt.

And none shall appear before Me empty-handed. Also you shall observe the Feast of the Harvest of the first fruits of your labors from what you sow in the field; also the Feast of the Ingathering at the end of the year when you gather in the fruit of your labors from the field.

Exodus 23:14-16

The day of Passover and the Wave Sheaf Offering (feast of first fruits) are all part of the 7 day Feast of Unleavened Bread. And I have already explained how Jesus fulfilled both seasons through His death and resurrection.


Now… what does this mean for the church?

We already understand how Jesus became our Passover and first fruit of the glorious resurrection, but there’s more.

The Passover marked the day the Israelites were freed from bondage in the land of Egypt.
When they went to the wilderness, the Bible called them the church.

This is he, that was in the church in the wilderness with the angel which spake to him in the mount Sinai, and with our fathers: who received the lively oracles to give unto us.

Acts 7:38 KJV

Their freedom from the bondage of Egypt marked the first part of their journey.

This is how the church starts it’s journey in Christ, even on a personal level. I mean you.

✅ The first part is to be set free from the bondage of sin.

knowing this, that our old self was crucified with Him, in order that our body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin; for he who has died is freed from sin.

Romans 6:6-7

Egypt at the first, represents both the hold and bondage of sin & death. But we have been set free through Christ our Passover.

✅ Another thing that this Passover marks for you and I is the freedom from this world.

So also we, while we were children, were held in bondage under the elemental things of the world.

Galatians 4:3

Egypt for the church in the wilderness represents to you and I, the elements of this world. The moment you become born again, your journey starts. And it starts off as being free from the elements of this world and its systems. You see life differently, you act differently, you are run by different principles and you believe differently. For you are being set free from Egypt – the kingdom of this world into the Kingdom of Heaven.

✅ Finally, Passover marks your freedom and switch from the kingdom of darkness to the Kingdom of God, through King Jesus.

For He rescued us from the domain of darkness, and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son.

Colossians 1:13

Just as the church of old was rescued from Egypt, God has rescued you from the domain of darkness.

Remember the Passover event, it wasn’t just an event of God executing judgement on human wickedness. He also executed judgement on the gods of Egypt.

There were spiritual forces at play. These gods are what the bible refers to as demons . The same goes for us. When we were in the world.. we were in bondage to these demons and the god of the world – Satan.

And you were dead in your trespasses and sins, in which you formerly walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, of the spirit that is now working in the sons of disobedience.

Ephesians 2:1-2

Your first journey in Christ was the switch and rescue from these three kinds of bondage. This is also what Passover means to you.

So check your life. Are you in that part of the journey where you’re still trying to have one leg in the domain of sin, the world, and darkness? Then since you were born again, your journey of growth in Christ is still at the Passover Level. You haven’t really taken off and are still immature – like a baby.

After Passover, you get to another milestone, one that is meant to mature you. That milestone is Pentecost, and we will get there soon in this series.

Hope you enjoyed it. Until then…see you soon.

Uche Okorie

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.